icon Living Members of the Baseball Hall of Fame

The Baseball Hall of Fame can include players, managers, umpires, and executives (Most managers were former players and many players later become managers, but they are usually voted into the Hall as one or the other, as their career merits). The baseball writers association has the primary responsibility for selecting which players will be in the Hall of Fame. Players who are no longer under consideration by the baseball writers can be voted in by the veterans committee. The veterans committee is viewed by many as a "back door" into the Hall and, therefore, it is considered more prestigious to be inducted by the baseball writers.

The veterans committee - known since 2011 as the "historical overview committee" - is also responsible for inducting non-players, including managers, executives, and umpires.

The list below gives each living Hall member, in order of date of birth. It also indicates how each member was inducted. No designation means "player inducted by the baseball writers."

RankNameBornML Playing CareerInduction
1Tommy Lasorda9/22/19271954-56VC (manager)
2Whitey Ford10/21/19281950, 1953-67
3Willie Mays5/6/19311951-73
4Whitey Herzog11/9/19311956-63VC (manager)
5Hank Aaron2/5/19341954-76
6Luis Aparicio4/29/19341956-73
7Bud Selig7/30/1934N/AHOC (executive)
8Al Kaline12/19/19341953-74
9Frank Robinson8/31/19351956-76
10Bob Gibson11/9/19351959-75
11Sandy Koufax12/30/19351955-66
12Bill Mazeroski9/5/19361956-72VC 
13Brooks Robinson5/18/19371955-77
14Pat Gillick8/22/1937N/AHOC (executive)
15Orlando Cepeda9/17/19371958-74VC 
16Juan Marichal10/20/19371960-75
17Billy Williams6/15/19381959-76
18Gaylord Perry9/15/19381962-83
19Phil Niekro4/1/19391964-87
20Lou Brock6/18/19391961-79
21Carl Yastrzemski8/22/19391961-83
22Joe Torre7/18/19401960-77HOC (manager)
23John Schuerholz10/1/1940N/AHOC (executive)
24Bobby Cox5/21/19411968-69HOC (manager)
25Tony Perez5/14/19421964-86
26Joe Morgan9/19/19431963-84
27Ferguson Jenkins12/13/19431965-83
28Tony La Russa10/4/19441963, 1968-73HOC (manager)
29Tom Seaver11/17/19441967-86
30Steve Carlton12/22/19441965-88
31Don Sutton4/2/19451966-88
32Rod Carew10/1/19451967-85
33Jim Palmer10/15/19451965-84
34Reggie Jackson5/18/19461967-87
35Rollie Fingers8/25/19461968-85
36Nolan Ryan1/31/19471966-93
37Johnny Bench12/7/19471967-83
38Carlton Fisk12/26/19471969, 1970-93
39Mike Schmidt9/27/19491972-89
40Bert Blyleven4/6/19511970-92
41Goose Gossage7/5/19511972-89, 1991-94
42Dave Winfield10/3/19511973-88, 1990-95
43Bruce Sutter1/8/19531976-86, 1988
44Jim Rice 3/8/19531974-89
45George Brett5/15/19531973-93
46Andre Dawson7/10/19541976-96
47Dennis Eckersley10/3/19541975-98
48Ozzie Smith12/26/19541978-96
49Jack Morris5/16/19551977-94HOC 
50Robin Yount9/16/19551974-93
51Eddie Murray2/24/19561977-97
52Paul Molitor8/22/19561978-98
53Alan Trammell2/21/19581977-96HOC 
54Wade Boggs6/15/19581982-99
55Rickey Henderson12/25/19581979-2003
56Tim Raines9/16/19591979-2002
57Ryne Sandberg9/18/19591981-94, 1996-97
58Cal Ripken Jr.8/24/19601981-2001
59Randy Johnson9/10/19631988-2009
60Barry Larkin4/28/19641986-2004
61Craig Biggio12/14/19651998-2007
62Tom Glavine3/25/19661987-2008
63Greg Maddux4/14/19661986-2008
64John Smoltz5/15/19671998-2009
65Trevor Hoffman10/13/19671993-2010
66Roberto Alomar2/5/19681988-2004
67Jeff Bagwell5/27/19681991-2005
68Frank Thomas5/27/19681990-2008
69Mike Piazza9/4/19691992-2007
70Ken Griffey Jr.11/21/19691989-2010
71Jim Thome8/27/19701991-2012
72Pedro Martinez10/25/19711992-2009
73Ivan Rodriguez11/27/19711991-2011
74Chipper Jones4/24/19721993, 1995-2012
75Vladimir Guerrero2/9/19751996-2011

Recent Deaths

Willie McCovey
Red Schoendienst
Doug Harvey